Best coding to learn?

Fixing and making things, what tools to get and what skills to learn, ...
EdithKeeler

Best coding to learn?

Post by EdithKeeler »

I really want to sign up to learn basic coding, but I’m not sure what’s the best to learn to be immediately useful. I know we have lots of computer people who hang out here.

My last computer class was a Basic class in high school. While I’ve done a (very tiny, very basic) bit of HTML stuff, my skill level is total neophyte who does a pretty decent spreadsheet.

So—what should I take? I want:
—something I can learn online and via self-taught
—something pretty useful to me to be able to build a decent website
—to be able to handle forms and data in ways beyond excel and Word.

So... recommendations?

ducknalddon

Re: Best coding to learn?

Post by ducknalddon »

PHP, I know many in the industry turn their noses up at it but it is very easy to get started with, in particular if you want to create something on the web.

daylen

Post by daylen »

Web programming, python, C, C++, bash, assembly. Depends on what level of application you want to create. Compare networking with file systems.

EdithKeeler

Post by EdithKeeler »

Web programming, python, C, C++, bash, assembly. Depends on what level of application you want to create. Compare networking with file systems.
Yeah, I know those are my choices... just not sure which to do. Neophyte. Really.

Scott 2

Post by Scott 2 »

You don't need to be able to program to create a website these days. Many good turnkey solutions out there.

The principles transfer across languages. I'd get started with whatever draws your interest and take it from there.

Quadalupe

Post by Quadalupe »

For web development I'd look into HTML + CSS + JS. Easy to learn, difficult to master.

Check out this (free) website with a complete course program: https://upskillcourses.com/