80-20 Gardening

Fixing and making things, what tools to get and what skills to learn, ...
Lucky C

80-20 Gardening

Post by Lucky C »

What are some ideas for getting 80% of the produce you could be getting, while putting in 20% of the effort of a typical person who is really into gardening? What are some topics Tim Ferriss would write about if he wrote The Four Hour Gardener?

I'm just getting started this year and it's hard for me to judge what is "good enough" to get decent results vs. what is absolutely essential: Is a certain rule or tip the difference between a big yield and a bigger yield, or the difference between life and death of the plant?

I've seen a few recipes for supposedly the perfect soil mix, but what's the minimum that I need to add to my sub-par soil to get a decent crop?

If a plant "needs" six hours of sun, how much less do you get out of if it only sees five?

If a plant wants a pH of 6.0 - 7.0, what happens if the soil is 5.5 or 5.0?

Eventually, years from now, I want to have a nice permaculture garden, but it's hard getting started when you don't have much to work with and don't want to truck in loads of expensive soil!

cmonkey

Re: 80-20 Gardening

Post by cmonkey »

For a brand new garden, if I could only do one thing, it would be to cover every inch of bare soil with 4-6 inches of some sort of organic mulch. Compost is the best. Grass clippings and leaf mould work well around veggies (after they are 6+ inches) and wood chips work well around perennials. The mulch will suppress weeds and improve the structure/moisture retentiveness of the soil no matter if its clay or sand. This will handle 80% of the work of gardening (weeding and watering).

I am doing this this year and haven't spent more than an hour weeding and haven't water once.