Chicago fishing buddies sought

Meetups, joint projects, classifieds, dating, exchanges, buying, selling, etc.
jacob
Site Admin
Location: USA, Zone 5b, Koppen Dfa, Elev. 620ft, Walkscore 77

Chicago fishing buddies sought

Post by jacob »

Getting up at 4am or staying past 8pm is apparently what it takes to catch much of anything. Unfortunately, I lack to internal motivation to do this on my own, hence I'm seeking external motivation, that is, some other person(s) to go fishing with. Being ERE compatible always works for an all around good time compared to random people, hence asking here.

I usually fish off of Montrose harbor, but I can go anywhere covered by the red/purple line.

Anyone?

PS: Experience would be nice, since my lifetime catch is <10 fish (a couple of bass, a crappie, two trouts, and several sun fish), but not required. If you're a total noob, I'd be happy to teach/show what little I know. In principle you don't need anything but a pole, a reel, a $15 license, and the ability to suffer---remember 4am. I have tons of lures (yay, eBay) and am willing to share.

PPS: If desperate, you can borrow my pole/reed. I'll just borrow DW's fancy stuff. You still need the license though (can be bought online in about 5 minutes).

sshawnn

Re: Chicago fishing buddies sought

Post by sshawnn »

I had a recent 3 day visit with my sister in Wilmington, NC.

In the interest of progressing from consumer to producer, she has a keen in interest in beginning fishing. She has recently met a few ladies that provide and supplement their income with fishing in her area. My first questions about their business were where do they harbor their boat etc etc. Surprisingly at least to me, they fish off the beach! They treat it like a job and spend a few hours a day fishing and sell their fish to local markets (likely for cash) just like the commercial fishermen do.

Beyond eating the fish from Lake Michigan yourself, is there a local demand for such?

jacob
Site Admin