Is work/life balance a cruel myth?

Move along, nothing to see here!
buzz

Post by buzz »

I don't post here much, so for context I'll tell you I graduated college in December and I'm jumping through the job search hoops. I recently asked a potential employer if I would still have to commit to work duties when I take PTO (it's an "on-call" type position) I thought it was a reasonable question, but he felt he needed to answer with several paragraphs about commitment and work ethic which basically stated we'll try not to bother you, but if you take this job you are required to work 24/7/365 at the drop of a hat if we need you. Is this common? I'm not even in the rat race and can't wait to get out!
Related reading:

http://www.bizjournals.com/denver/blog/ ... l?page=all

jacob
Site Admin
Location: USA, Zone 5b, Koppen Dfa, Elev. 620ft, Walkscore 77

Post by jacob »

I always felt like it was a cost that is pushed onto the employee, i.e. telling them "not to work so hard", thus clearing the employer conscience, while still hiring and firing based on who works the hardest.
PS: In high-powered professions, what they really mean is a "work/sleep" balance ... not so much "work/life"-balance.

C-Dawg

Post by C-Dawg »

Depends on your goals and will probably vary a lot by industry and company.
I personally am not very good at keeping a work-life balance. I like to exceed expectations and dive head first into projects. This turns into regular 50-60 hour weeks (occasionally more, occasionally less). I've also seen a 23% annual compensation growth rate since graduating 6 years ago. That would not have happened if I was not both very good at what I do and willing to give up that work-life balance (and, admittedly, somewhat lucky).
That's a big part of why I'm drawn to ERE. If I'm working, I'm going to continue sacrificing life outside of work. Solution? make working optional.

C40

Post by C40 »

This varies a LOT by companies and by specific position within companies.