Dumpster Diving

Move along, nothing to see here!
pooablo

Post by pooablo »

I went dumpster diving for the first time yesterday at a local organic food store. It's incredible what you can find in a garbage bin: zucchini, eggplant, potatoes, dill, collard, etc. I am definitely doing this more often. I can't believe that I have never tried it before.
Any other dumpster divers out there?

murpheyw

Post by murpheyw »

My last dive (2 months or so ago) was behind a Blockbuster video store. I found 5 music CD's (various artists) and several new folders.
Before that, We needed some scrap drywall to fix a patch in the home drywall. My brother and law and I took a drive to a new single family home construction site. We found plenty of drywall leftovers in a dumpster that meet our needs and found a few nice sized 2X4's to boot. We also found a very large wet dry vac that works like a champ.
Fun stuff.

AnneBentham

Post by AnneBentham »

I'm a dumpster diver! It's amazing how much great stuff gets tossed out. Like bags containing 9 perfect oranges and 1 with a bruise.
There's a book called The Art & Science of Dumpster Diving by John Hoffman that you might enjoy. It's funny and surprisingly helpful.
Also, here's a thread about a dumpster diving documentary.

viewtopic.php?t=592#post-7161

Rex

Post by Rex »

Not quite dumpster diving, but my parents and I were planning on finding a large piece of Styrofoam to place under our dog's electric heating blanket for winter (he's about ten now; very rarely does he come into the house, primarily only during thunder storms, and even then, sometimes we have to literally drag him indoors, which isn't easy since he's close to one hundred pounds).