Real Estate

Ask your investment, budget, and other money related questions here
flat_broke

Post by flat_broke »

I'm seriously considering purchasing a multi-family rental property to expedite my early retirement aspirations. Any one out there doing this? Any hints/tips?
I'm been thinking about this for over a year, but am hesitant because I have no experience. I'd hate to make a purchase and end up losing money as these type of investments are pretty expensive.
Thoughts?

JohnnyH

Post by JohnnyH »

Reasons why I find real estate risky:

*inefficient, illiquid market with complex laws, fees, realtors, tax requirements coming into play when you buy/sell

*historically a market utterly fueled by [easy] credit. Which leads to inflated prices.

*lack of diversification. I try to avoid anything that could wipe out a significant portion of my worth (especially when I can't quickly exit the position).

*associated costs and necessary knowledge. I don't really want to spend any money or effort learning how to tile floors (at least now).

*dealing with renters doesn't always sound like it's fun.

Concojones

Post by Concojones »

Do you live in the US? There are deals to be had among foreclosures. Make sure the rent is significantly greater than the mortgage payments and other taxes/fees. Yes, I said mortgage - don't invest your own money, or at least as little as possible. House prices will fall further but that's irrelevant as long as rents don't fall. If they fall further you can buy more properties.
This is what I would do if I lived in the US and if I knew I was going to stay put in the same place for a couple of years (unless you want to outsource everything).
Check the following blog post about the ERE guy who said he'd get a whole apartment building if he could do it over again. It's the same idea. http://earlyretirementextreme.com/when- ... ge-35.html

Muji

Post by Muji »