Health Reform Bill---Circa 2011 and On.

Ask your investment, budget, and other money related questions here
HSpencer

Post by HSpencer »

I got a foretaste of upcoming ObamaCare that will come into being.
I decided to take advantage of my "Age 65 Medicare Physical Exam" that all turning 65 and enrolling in parts A and B are entitled to as per the Medicare 2010 Handbook. Sounds easy? Read on.
I have been using the same GP Doctor for 25 years. Additionally my whole family has been going to this clinic. My wife's best friend is his receptionist. So, it's not like they don't know me/us.
When I get in the office, after standard BP/Temp/Pulse/ht and wt. readings, the Doctor whisks me out of the exam room and into his own office. We sit down and he small talks a while, then tells me this: With my personal insurance, he does not "think" Medicare will indeed pay for my "Age 65 Physical". However, my personal insurance will not either if they key up on my having Medicare and turning 65. Catch 22. Bottom line is I AM getting a physical, but he has no idea "who" is going to pay for it. He wonders if we should change my diagnosis and reason for visit to something like chest pains, and bill as usual? I remind him of the Medicare Handbook. Yes, he knows that, but unless Medicare is all you have, it does apply and there is no payment to the provider. That has been the clinic's recent experience, leading them to write off a lot of recent work.

(Bear in mind that in my new life at age 65, Medicare has to be the first payer, or there are NO payers.) In my case, my personal insurance picks up anything not covered by Medicare, as long as Medicare has had their look and chance to pay it.

I tell the doctor I want a full bells and whistles medical exam.