ERE journey for single man in Singapore

Ask your investment, budget, and other money related questions here
directionseeker

Post by directionseeker »

Hi,
I have been searching for ways to achieve financial success since I graduated from university 7 years ago but so far I am still working to feed myself and my parent without seeing the light in the end of the tunnel. I have been recording my expense for the past 5 years because of the inspiration from the book " Your Money or Your Life".
I came across this idea of ERE from another blogger by the name of Patrick Meninga and it immediately captured my attention. I have read several posting in this blog and stories posted by similar mindset people in the forum so I think I will share some of my situation here and hope to get some idea and discussion going here.
As of August 2012(figure below are in Singapore Dollar):
Study loan: $23,000

Monthly income $2,819

Saving account balance: $6,000
Expense(monthly):

Study loan - $200

Rental - $240

Parent - $300

Health product installment (11 months more)- $174

Food - $300 to $400 (Depends of dinner appointment of that month)

Transportation - $100

Badminton - $20

Book - $0 to $50 (Depends on whether is there any good book)

Entertainment - $0 to $100 (Mostly spent on movie/short trip to nearby country)

Cell Phone - $60

iPad broadband plan - $40
Total:$1,684

Saving rate: 40% (My estimated saving rate from now onward)
I also spent quite a lot of money on Gadget like MacBook Air, iPad, Cell Phone. Travelling trip over the years also costs me about $10-20K.
Any advice or opinion is appreciated here.
/Direction Seeker

George the original one

Post by George the original one »

I think you're the first person to list badminton as an expense!
Looking over your expenses, your parent and food are the largest, but they're still a small part of your overall budget.