Do I benefit from contributing to my IRA if I have no tax liability?

Ask your investment, budget, and other money related questions here
rachels

Post by rachels »

I'm curious: For the past two years I have been living off of $3000-4000/year while making about $8000. Since I have no income tax liability to begin with, does it still benefit me tax-wise to make contributions to the traditional IRA I opened while earning more? Can I use my contributions to reduce the self-employment tax I need to pay next year?

jacob
Site Admin
Location: USA, Zone 5b, Koppen Dfa, Elev. 620ft, Walkscore 77

Post by jacob »

I'm not really an expert (just someone who does his return with pen and paper), but ...
IRA contributions are above the line and wont reduce your self-employment tax. That gets tagged on almost at the very end. I don't know any easy way around that.
Do you benefit from the IRA ... it depends on what the regulations are/will be concerning dividend taxation and more precisely what you have in your IRA. So far capital gains and common dividends have not been taxed (but they may be if the Bush tax cuts aren't extended) for low income (in the 15% or less bracket). Hence, it wouldn't matter if they were held in an IRA or a broker account.
If the tax cuts expire, I think you'd be paying taxes on those regardless of whether your earned income stays low. The IRA would protect against that.
[I'd highly recommend doing the 1040 by hand. In 1-2 years, you'll really understand how it works. At long as you are not engaged in something crazy, the IRS publications are very clearly written (although the HSA one could use some work!) and one can learn a lot about the various brackets and limits.]

Steve Austin

Post by Steve Austin »