Can I retire with 4 children?

Ask your investment, budget, and other money related questions here
M

Can I retire with 4 children?

Post by M »

I have 4 children, ages 12, 11, 6 and 1. Throughout my relationship my spouse has never worked, and never intends to work. I work in the tech field, and when I retire it may be hard to get back in at my current salary, so when I leave I would like to minimize the odds of having to work. I'm 35 years old and live in the U.S.

The question is, can I retire? Should I retire? What would you do if you were in my shoes? Ok I guess there are multiple questions.

Here are the financials:

Financial Assets:
1.15 million invested, ~600k in taxable money. Mostly in index funds, REITS, and IBonds. The rest is in 401k/IRAs/HSAs
House worth ~200k or so, paid off.

1.35 million total networth

Debt: $0.00

Trailing Twelve Month Expenses (Annual):

Property Taxes 2200
Water/Trash/Sewer 720
Electricity 1800
Groceries 7800
Car Insurance 400
Car Gas/Depreciation 1300
House Maintenance 1800
Internet 180
Healthcare 18000
School Expenses 2370
Cell Phones 120
Misc 3000

Total 39690

I live in a medicaid expansion state - after I retire I will be on medicaid. So in theory the health insurance/healthcare expenses will go down.

-M

Crusader

Re: Can I retire with 4 children?

Post by Crusader »

Do you intend/plan to help your kids out with higher education?

Lemur

Post by Lemur »

Well you're at a 3.45% withdrawal rate. ($39,690/$1.35mil).

I see 3 options here:

1.) You can retire now. Kids will have to fund their own education. As the saying goes: "Scholarships or Warships."
2.) If you intend to fully fund college for all 4 kids...you'd probably need to keep working. Direct all savings towards 529s for favorable tax treatments.
3.) Mix of 1/2. Perhaps fund enough up to community college / trade-school for all 4 kids. The kids will have to work/study to pay for additional schooling but it is their choice at this point.

M

Post by M »