What kind of bank account should I open?

Ask your investment, budget, and other money related questions here
TheRedHare

What kind of bank account should I open?

Post by TheRedHare »

So I currently only have 1 local bank account that I've been using for the past several years, but the problem is that its no longer convenient to get to since the nearest one to me is now about an hour away.

I'd like to open an account with a new bank that would be close by, have a decent interest rate on savings accounts, and is open on weekends. I've thought about using a large bank like Bank of America, or Wells Fargo. I've also looked into online banks like Barclays.

What do you guys suggest? Or what are factors to consider when deciding to open up a new bank account?

Seppia

Re: What kind of bank account should I open?

Post by Seppia »

Wells Fargo seems to have made a pledge to scam all of their customers, I’m not sure I would give them my money.
When in the USA I used Chase and was happy.
I heard the best yield on savings is with Goldman

sky

Post by sky »

A local credit union and a Schwab account.

chicago81

Post by chicago81 »

Ally online bank is excellent. Completely free/no-fee checking and savings accounts, with very good savings account rates. They reimburse up to $10 foreign ATM fees per month too. No physical presence, so you wouldn't be able to get cashier's checks or do cash deposits though. (I keep a Chase account for that -- there are Chase branches on nearly every block where I live.)

Dream of Freedom

Post by Dream of Freedom »

Probably a checking account. Checks are a bit old school, but can come in handy if you ever transact with ordinary people who have no access to a certain credit machine.

A credit card account with cash back or points is nice but not essential. You can set it up to automatically pay it off in full every month. You build your credit score in case you need a mortgage down the line and pick up some cash back.