Medications for Depression/Anxiety/Stress & other mental health problems.

Health, Fitness, Food, Insurance, Longevity, Diets,...
Lemur

Medications for Depression/Anxiety/Stress & other mental health problems.

Post by Lemur »

Hey guys,

What is the ERE strategy (or opinion*) on utilizing medications for depression, anxiety, or just stress? Some over-the-counter stuff can be fairly cheap and perhaps even worth budgeting for if they're needed. While I feel stress can be mitigated with lifestyle changes, depression and anxiety are a bit tougher to deal with. There are both genetic and environmental factors to deal with. I would like to preface this post with the fact that I am not a brain scientist, psychologist, or anything like that, but I am in the honeymoon stages of research lately into what triggers these mental states in the brain (neurotransmitters like dopamine, serotonin, etc. are terms I'm seeing a lot) and what can cause these mental states.

I'm particularly interested in situational anxiety, public speaking anxiety, etc...I'm generally a happy person most of the time (no depression) and stress is a non-issue because I've worked myself into a good balance between family/work/school/saving/etc. What spurred my sudden response is I get particularly anxious/stressed at work in meetings, presentations, and especially conference calls. Up until now, I always just accepted that this is the way I was and to just "deal with it" when it comes. This has been I life-long problem for me and I would like to start looking for long-term approach to these problems and dealing with them...