Taking work home

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
CECTPA

Taking work home

Post by CECTPA »

I'm posting my situation to see, if anyone is in a similar one and to find out what you guys think. Any comments with your experience would be appreciated.

I used to work as a staff nurse for 2 years in a very stressful setting. I started to question my choice of profession and was burning out.
I had a rotation of 12 hour shifts, half days, half nights.
I hate night shifts, they are especially stressful and hard on my health.

Now I've got a nurse admin office job, Mon-Fri 8 to 4 pm, no night shifts, 100 times less stressful due to tons of experience with admin jobs before. I'm losing about 6K/year due to night hours/weekend hours costing more, but it's totally worth it. I'm still in my union, job security and the benefits are the same. The pay is still good too.

But the thing is when you are a manager, sometimes it gets busier. Not more stressful, just sometimes you have to stay after work to finish something, or after a vacation when your stuff piled up. No overtime pay for that. That doesn't look like a bedside nurse situation: after your hours you go home and others will carry on with whatever you didn't finish, probably bitching about that among themselves.

Now sometimes I go home at 4, not tired at all, not stressed or exhausted, and then remember that I forgot to finish something and just do it at home. And it kinda feels good to have everything in order, even when you have basically volunteered your hours... But I don't mind... Or should I?

Question to managers here:
- Do you get overtime pay if you have to stay and finish something? None of our managers do.
- Are you able to finish everything in your 8 hour day?

My plan is to stay in this position for about 3 years and then go part time, transitioning to early retirement.

Farm_or

Re: Taking work home

Post by Farm_or »