Graduate School: Lifestyle and Hours?

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
TheWanderingScholar

Graduate School: Lifestyle and Hours?

Post by TheWanderingScholar »

Currently my professors are asking me about graduate school, and possibly going for my PhD. I am thinking about doing that, or just saying fuck it and going corporate because money and debts.

So I am going to ask you people because many of you have graduate degrees and a couple have PhDs. Here is what I want to know:

How are the hours (i.e. spend on teaching, researching, and the like)?

How is the lifestyle?

How much time is spend working on your academic research and the like?

Thanks in advance!

saving-10-years

Re: Graduate School: Lifestyle and Hours?

Post by saving-10-years »

Its a compliment that they think you could be one of them so congrats. (I have a PhD so have answered but its UK so not perhaps _that_ relevant).
How are the hours (i.e. spend on teaching, researching, and the like)?
That is going to depend on the field and the timescale and how you work, also whether this is a research area that has funding attached and builds on previous work, or relies on work of others. I did my PhD part-time and worked full time (while also raising DS) so was a long drawn out affair. My strong advice is to aim to get a PhD as fast as possible. Unless (and even if) you wish to be an academic. The 80:20 principle really applies here. You can get too stuck on perfecting your unique contribution to the world of research. In my experience this is delusion. Its also making life harder the longer you take (I ended up doing a longitudinal study covering SEVEN years when I could have written it and been done in 3-4 years while also getting books published. (I took 8 years to complete and its surprisingly easy to do this as a part-timer when the field changes and you need to add on, amend and add new research.).
How is the lifestyle?