Relocation & a Tangle of Issues

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
brookline

Relocation & a Tangle of Issues

Post by brookline »

Hi everybody,
I am a Boston native and resident & have been thinking about out-of-state relocation. However, I am definitely struggling with whether this a good move. I am hoping those of you who have made major moves in midlife can offer me some feedback. Here is some background. I am 48-years old. Boston is a high COL area. I bike/walk/use public transit to get to work, shop at discount stores/Amazon/EBay/Savers/Craig’s List but haven’t really made much headway against $40,000 in public & private student loans. I have 2 kids ages 9 and 3.5. The 3 year old is full time in pre-school on my dime & the 9 year old gets extended day programming also o my dime.

My wife and I both work. We are in agreement that her $800k house with its $500k mortgage should be rented or sold. My wife owns the house. Unfortunately, she is spendy and plans to rent the house out until the 3 year old completes full-time preschool, than move back to the house. I disagree and want to move either to a smaller house in a walkable Boston suburb on a permanent basis or relocate. (We have had increasing disagreements about money in recent years as I have become less consumerist and she has not. She is only on board with renting our current place because she can now see she is going broke & will be unable to make payments on her $500,000 mortgage.) The marriage has a lot of other problems. I am wondering if relocating might be a means to separate without having to involve the legal system. (I am broke and would rather avoid the legal fees. Her entire family is composed of lawyers which makes a possible divorce unusually risky.)