Professional qualifications - a scam?

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
rymanani

Professional qualifications - a scam?

Post by rymanani »

I work in the finance field, where is highly encouraged to study an accounting qualification. These cost in the thousands, with each exam and the tuition very expensive - even where someone has an exemption, the fees are still applicable.

Since being identified as a retention risk at work (lots going on the market, current company has very uncertain future), there's been a lot of pressure for me to pursue a qualification, sponsored by the company, as they claim I'll be almost unemployable without one.

The catch of course is, that by taking on the sponsorship, I'll be committed to stay 2 years after completion, or have to pay the costs back.

Since the future of the company has become uncertain, I've noticed many of my colleagues taking up the qualification.

I have a strong desire to learn, however this type of intense studying just seems to be regurgitating facts and memorised information on an exam, rather than really understand and learn a topic. I've found so far that it's just a talking point in an interview, but nothing more.

I've been offered a job at a larger bank, and they didn't ask for a qualification, add I showed enough enthusiasm, and an ability to plug my knowledge gaps from the first round, and be able to fully explain the technical aspects I was lacking.

Long term however, are they worth the study? I've met many qualified people that would have gained much more on working on their soft skills, or their computer /excel skills!

vexed87

Re: Professional qualifications - a scam?

Post by vexed87 »

It depends if all employers in your field are asking for these.