A dangerous/expensive career change?

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
Garbo13

A dangerous/expensive career change?

Post by Garbo13 »

Hi all,

I am looking for some career advice on a potentially expensive career change decision. My current situation is as follows:

I’m 32 and I work in a technical job in the pharmaceutical industry in the UK. My university education was in Chemistry – I have a bachelor’s degree. My current salary is £32,000 a year and I live in one of the cheapest parts of the UK - my salary is well above the median. I am comfortable and do not wish to retire before 50 (that’s what I consider early retirement ^^ ).

I contribute 7% of my salary to my pension, to which my employer adds 7%. I have a small mortgage remaining on my house of approximately £48,000 and my monthly payment is around £200. And I have no plans to move, ever. At present I save 50% of my take-home pay (my take-home pay is £1900/month) and use this money to over-pay my mortgage. Other than my pension (which has around £50k in it), I have no liquid investments.

My question, or rather problem, is this: I have reached a ceiling in my job/career – I cannot increase my salary beyond what I currently earn, and I no longer feel challenged in my day-to-day work. A couple of years ago I decided to try and change direction, and further my education by enrolling in a general engineering bachelor’s degree part-time, which my employer generously agreed to pay for (100%). They agreed to do this because my current role in the company has a basis in engineering.

I have completed 50% of the degree and I am a bit disappointed :cry: because the degree has not allowed me to focus on what I am interested in (the degree is mostly mechanical, structural and electrical engineering and I’ve since come to realise that what I really want to learn is chemical engineering).