Web-of-Goals Job Ideas

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
canoe

Web-of-Goals Job Ideas

Post by canoe »

I’m a tech worker, and while I enjoy this job, it’s great for learning (many computer science concepts provide excellent mental models for optimizing one’s life) and the pay is above average, in some ways programming for a living is fundamentally at odds with health. It encourages sitting all day, staring at a screen, and leads to repetitive strain injuries and posture problems if you aren’t careful.

Based on this, I think it might be interesting to brainstorm jobs that contribute to as many goals as possible rather than focus almost exclusively on money and have significant downsides.

Some positive as aspects of jobs that would help contribute to useful goals:
  • Contributes to health and fitness (e.g. exercise is part of the job)
  • Builds career capital (i.e. not dead-end) or is intrinsically interesting (so it doesn’t matter if it is dead-end)
  • Builds as many ERE-relevant practical skills as possible (maybe carpentry, gardening, cooking, people skills, repairing, etc.)
  • Involves socialization/meeting people
  • Is enjoyable/flexible enough that it offsets some need for/doesn't get in the way of recreation
  • Pays enough
  • Others I've forgotten

Based on these characteristics, the first thing I thought of was a small business building fancy houses:
  • Physical exercise is part of the job.
  • If business is good, you can grow your business and learn more about business, building career capital. Building houses also sounds interesting to me.
  • Develops skill in several practical disciplines from carpentry to basic plumbing.
  • Meet different people as you build different houses.
  • If you’re your own boss, you can set your own hours.
  • Pays well if business is good, higher margins due to targeting a more “luxury” market.