Jobs That Teach Useful Skills

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
chrisreads

Jobs That Teach Useful Skills

Post by chrisreads »

Hi Everyone,

I spent the last 6 years working in property management so I could learn how to manage my own rental properties one day. It was helpful but the company I worked for was sold a few months ago and I'm looking to get into something new. I'd only be looking to do the new job for a year or two.

If I were a little more handy, maybe I'd get into the maintenance side but I think I'd have to take some courses before I could realistically do that job. Does anybody know of any other jobs that might teach me a skill that would be useful for ERE? I have a Bachelors in Business Administration if that helps.

Thanks!

-Chris

Kriegsspiel

Re: Jobs That Teach Useful Skills

Post by Kriegsspiel »

Construction companies are always looking for laborers. You could learn how to do drywall, carpentry, roofing, etc. The requirements are usually "having a car" and "don't show up drunk."

chrisreads

Post by chrisreads »

Kriegsspiel wrote:
Tue Feb 19, 2019 8:46 am
Construction companies are always looking for laborers. You could learn how to do drywall, carpentry, roofing, etc. The requirements are usually "having a car" and "don't show up drunk."
Thanks for answering :D

I've toyed with that idea as well. I'm moderately fit but I'm in my upper 30s though so I'm not sure how well my body would handle jumping into something like that full time.

prognastat

Post by prognastat »

You could:
- start a business repairing electronics.
- do the things Kriegsspiel mentioned.
- start a vegetable garden selling either at farmers market or local restaurants and expand it over time.
- go into metalwork/fabrication.
- do something crafting related and sell either locally or on something like etsy.

Kriegsspiel

Post by Kriegsspiel »