Changing careers to software engineering- Bootcamp?

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
James_0011

Changing careers to software engineering- Bootcamp?

Post by James_0011 »

Hello,

I haven’t posted here in awhile but have been thinking of an issue that I thought members of this forum could help me with.

I’m currently working as a product Manager at a small software company. I would like to change my career to being a software engineer in order to hopefully find remote based work.

My question is has anyone here attended a coding Bootcamp? Did they find it useful in changing careers?

My thinking is that I can simply learn how to be a junior web developer from books and free tutorials. My background is in math and I took some cs classes.

My only concern is that I won’t follow through with completing online tutorials. I know I have the aptitude to do so but I’m think that if I paid for a Bootcamp I would take it more seriously.

My other thought is do I need to become a software engineer after all? I would really like to be able to work from home. I see product Manager jobs that allow working from home posted occasionally. However, there are not very many of these and they seem very competitive.

What do you think?

JamesR

Re: Changing careers to software engineering- Bootcamp?

Post by JamesR »

Having development experience would be an asset for a product manager too, assuming the product is websites or software products.

I can imagine that a bootcamp would be very effective, but they can be rather expensive. When I last looked back in 2014 maybe, I think I saw prices from $15k-20k for 8 to 11 weeks. But one of the linked threads above mentioned someone getting 3 months for $10k. I guess it depends a lot on your location or if you can relocate to where one of the bootcamps are.