Agriculture subsidies

Intended for constructive conversations. Exhibits of polarizing tribalism will be deleted.
dpilot83

Post by dpilot83 »

Full disclosure: I am a full time farmer in Kansas.
I read a post on the forum (city or country mouse thread) that was talking about a lazy farmer (going to town 4 times a day for coffee) who complained he wasn't making any money while he was receiving hundreds of thousands of dollars in subsidies.
I was wondering what most non-farmers think about government subsidies for agriculture. Do you feel that it's a waste? Do you feel that it keeps food prices low and is therefore acceptable?
I'll give you my opinion. I think these programs are a waste. I firmly believe that as a farmer, my net worth would increase the same amount every year regardless of whether I receive government subsidies or not.
If I receive government subsidies, I make more money. This means that I can afford to pay more to either buy land or cash rent it from those who own land (and my neighboring farmers can do the same). This means that in order to expand my operation I have to spend the extra money that I make through government subsidies to either buy or rent more land. So the thing that government subsidies really do is artificially increase the value of land. I don't really make any more money than I would have if these government programs didn't exist. I just have to do more paperwork to qualify for them.

Robert Muir

Post by Robert Muir »

I'm against them because the subsidies never achieve their stated goal and the unintended consequences create even more havoc.
It's easy to understand how they get started though. "If we don't do something, the farmers will go bankrupt and then we'll have fewer farmers and more expensive crops." Of course more people would get into farming if that were to happen.
It's the same thing with the mortgage interest tax deduction. Since everyone gets it, all it does is artificially boosts the value of houses.

44deagle