Need help for touring folding bike

All the different ways of solving the shelter problem. To be static or mobile? Roots, legs, or wheels?
spiritess

Need help for touring folding bike

Post by spiritess »

I am new to bikes and want a folding bike for touring. If i had unlimited budget, I would get the Bike Friday Diamond Llama. but my budget is ~$1000. I want something tough that I can go off roading with.

Is there any caveats to getting gears reduced or is that easy to do on any bike?

I am lost with the amount of options available. I just discovered origami brand. They seem cool. I dont understand the diffence between the Crane, Gazelle and Hawk.

Thank you!!

Gilberto de Piento

Re: Need help for touring folding bike

Post by Gilberto de Piento »

spiritess wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 1:22 am
Is there any caveats to getting gears reduced or is that easy to do on any bike?

I am lost with the amount of options available. I just discovered origami brand. They seem cool. I dont understand the diffence between the Crane, Gazelle and Hawk.
What do you mean by "getting gears reduced?"

Looking at the models listed on the origami website as they go up in price you get better specifications. Steel frame to aluminum, 7 speed to 8 speed, etc. This is typical for bikes.

Some questions to think about: are you talking touring like going on a day trip to a nearby park or across Africa? Loaded or unloaded? What does offroading mean to you? Why a folding bike?

Alphaville

Post by Alphaville »

i’m “seeing” 3 bikes and can’t compute

spiritess

Post by spiritess »

Gilberto de Piento wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 7:20 am
What do you mean by "getting gears reduced?"

Looking at the models listed on the origami website as they go up in price you get better specifications. Steel frame to aluminum, 7 speed to 8 speed, etc. This is typical for bikes.