Hello fine people

Say hello!!
niemand

Hello fine people

Post by niemand »

This forum is a treasure trove. Thanks everybody for sharing your pearls of wisdom and experience here.

Time to unlurk and chime in.

Cheers from the land down under where beer does flow and men chunder.

DutchGirl

Re: Hello fine people

Post by DutchGirl »

Welcome. So, Australia?

I saw in another thread that you are relatively close to being FI (a few more years?). Nice. Congrats.

Did

Post by Did »

Welcome. Aussie here too but escaped for a while.

Dragline

Post by Dragline »

It's like being on a hippie trail with a head full of zombie.

Does this mean we better run, we better take cover? :lol:

niemand

Post by niemand »

I’ve been staying in Australia for the past 4 years. Originally I’m from that big country to the east of yours @Dutchgirl, but haven’t lived there for more than 10 years.

You could say I too escaped @Did, although not quite sure from what. Maybe it’s just wanderlust. Before Australia I spent a few years in South East Asia. Before that I graduated from uni and worked in the UK, and met the DF who is from SEA (makes sense?). Basically I have been on the move since leaving high school, spending a couple of years here and there in France, Africa and the Middle East, living off uni scholarships, local employment and/or generous parents, saving nothing but learning and experiencing loads. Savings only started to pile up since my first “real job” in the UK.

Although you might very well say it’s been like a hippy trail @Dragline, there’s no need to take cover, and I couldn’t possibly comment on the zombie :lol: . In fact, my life is getting more and more settled. The time spent in one place before moving to another is getting longer and longer. A wedding is looming. The trail may be coming to an end, and I will happily stay put...