new member from Ohio

Say hello!!
jredman

new member from Ohio

Post by jredman »

Hello Everyone, I am new to the ERE boards. I am a 46 year old school librarian. I am married with 2 sons (17 and 10 years old). Currently I am hoping to retire by age 55 so I am not as early as most people here. I was raised frugal. My parents were good at telling me to save money and model ways to do this. But they were not educated and were afraid of investments like stocks and mutual funds. I remember my parents putting any extra funds in CDs. My father is of Eastern-European stock and I was raised in a very strict religious background. I lived at home during college except when I had a scholarship to study abroad. I graduated with no debt due to working part-time during the school year, full-time summers and my parents helped with the rest. Sometimes I would work out ways to share textbooks and sometimes I even bought the books, photocopied them and returned them before the 2 week period was up if they were not too long. (I know that was not good)
When I graduated the job market in my area was dismal. I did not want to move and did not have the money to do so without going into debt. I was lucky to get a Grad. Assistant position in French. I was paid $600.00 each month and taught a class/did office work. I also babysat, cleaned a professor's house, substitute taught and did other various odd jobs whenever I had a free moment. I tried to take one extra class for free each semester too. I continued to live at home and save money. Then my second year of grad school I got a part-time job at a private school which paid a bit above minimum wage but I was getting experience. We were told we could not work other jobs which everyone else obeyed but I felt that was ridiculous - they did not own me. And most of the other kids had parental help.