Howdy!

Say hello!!
Beaudacious

Post by Beaudacious »

I'm a Texas bred 23 year old college grad who has been living an hour out from San Francisco for about a year. After finishing my degree (B.S. Business Admin and Psychology) with no debt (scholarships and working while taking classes), I worked as a corporate trainer, doing the 9-5 salaried gig. Lived in an upscale apartment complex, drove a decent car, and spent my weekends dining out and partying. I thought I was a retirement genius for contributing 15% to my company's 401k (they didn't match). I was on my way to the middle class lifestyle. Something didn't feel right though. I wasn't content with my lifestyle or my career. I felt directionless.
I decided to start completely fresh, and pay a little back to my country, by enlisting with the Navy. I wanted to do meaningful, hands-on work while protecting the people and freedoms that make America great. Something different than teaching people how to sell things that no one actually needs. I could have cared less about how much money I pulled in.
My goals became more defined. I began thinking more about what I wanted out of my life, rather than living up to the expectations of others (which I learned quickly that it really doesn't matter).
I learned to live without. Small living spaces meant less room for stuff. A smaller salary meant more dedication to money management skills and frugality. Because success at my job requires me to stay fit, health became a major priority in my life. And since I may have to face death head on, I've come to terms with the fact that my time is truly finite and valuable.
When given the option to acquire and consume once I was out of boot camp, I chose to stick with what I had, while many of my brothers-in-arms went on shopping sprees. Even after taking a pay cut with this new path, my savings per month have increased tenfold. And my quality of life has become better.