New college grad here!

Say hello!!
mindfulmonk

Post by mindfulmonk »

I want to say that I feel incredibly lucky to have found such a powerful set of ideas as ERE, being a new college graduate. I am also incredibly lucky for having the opportunity to go to college for free due to a scholarship.
My goals:
1) Don't ever work a full time desk job.

2) Become financially independent by age 30 (7 years from now).

3) Live a minimalist, sustainable and resilient lifestyle

4) Find a mentor who understands my goals and can guide me.
I just recently graduated with a computer engineering degree. I am a good programmer and student, with a 3.8 GPA. I've interned at major engineering corporations and received excellent work reviews. But I've been VERY unhappy with the corporate environment. Everything is based on hours spent as opposed to results obtained. I don't want to sit at my desk, I want to get the job done and go home!
Another problem I've been having: I don't want to specialize. Ever since I was a kid I have been interested in learning about everything. My parents took this as a bad thing and told me to sit down and "stick with one thing", and I've tried, but I feel stunted because of it.
So my plan is to learn new skills and build my Craigslist-based business (I absolutely love the business... it's a niche with endless variety). I'm going to live with my parents for free so I feel like I'm a bit of a loser but I want to save up money to invest!
Would love to meet some people to chat with over the net about this kind of thing. My friends and family think I'm crazy for being "such a good student" and "throwing it all away". I could use advice from someone who gets it and can assure me that I am not crazy for having these goals!

Scott 2

Post by Scott 2 »

Someone like you can become extremely valuable to a small business. A smart technical guy that does not specialize is hard to find. Specialization is easier and pays better.

mindfulmonk

Post by mindfulmonk »