Crusader says hi

Say hello!!
Crusader

Crusader says hi

Post by Crusader »

Hi everyone,

I am Crusader, a single male in his mid 30s, living in Toronto, Canada, originally from Serbia. I am a software developer by profession.

I discovered index fund investing a few years back, and was recently doing calculations about when I could possibly retire, and I think I can do it in 10 years if I play my cards right! This gave me extra motivation. Over the past 10 years (my working years), I've been saving 20-40% of my after-tax income without really trying too hard, and I think I can do 50% relatively easily (the 10 year goal is based on >= 50% savings rate and an annualized inflation-adjusted portfolio performance of >3%, so I am being quite conservative). 50% is the goal for next year, we'll see about after.

One thing I am proud of is how I set up my banking: the goal is to only ever log into the bank about once a year and be done with it, because I have better things to do. The rent (I live in a small cheap-ish apartment) and credit card payments are all automatic, are deducted from the account where my paycheck comes in. I also set up automatic monthly deductions into a portfolio of mutual funds, and the plan is to sell them once a year for cash, and invest the cash into index fund ETFs that I hold long term. This way I avoid monthly trading commission fees. In the account there is a buffer, and if the balance ever goes below that buffer, I get an alert on my phone (so that I can intervene and adjust next month's payment).

I found out about Jacob by randomly searching through the Internet about FIRE, and I like the forum and the nuanced/intellectual discussions (you don't find this on the Internet often these days) and different opinions, and just a community of people that took the "road less traveled".

wolf

Re: Crusader says hi

Post by wolf »