Hey Y'all

Say hello!!
Lafayette

Hey Y'all

Post by Lafayette »

Hey guys, I'm a 23 year old engineer in NYC. I also make quantitative trading strategies. I believe you can make way more than 4% a year and account for all possible scenarios if you do enough research, and that index funds arent the best way to invest. My life goal is to save up 200k and live off of automated trading in a third world country. Nice to meet you guys.

prognastat

Re: Hey Y'all

Post by prognastat »

Welcome to the forums.

I don't think most here would be happy with a 4% return on their investments. Those expecting a 4% SWR from index funds aren't expecting 4% average annual returns. Their expectations are probably closer to 9% inflation adjusted returns.

Lafayette

Post by Lafayette »

I see.

Bankai

Post by Bankai »

Welcome, Lafayette! What return do you target?

@prognastat - I don't know, I always thought this is an extremely conservative bunch. How else can you call accumulating past 3% or even 2% WR?

prognastat

Post by prognastat »

Definitely conservative, but I think most of us do believe that 3/3.5% is pretty much to cover for even the worst 30 year period in the history of the stock market. I don't think most are expecting that to be the average return, but rather being very conservative in their risk.

Bankai

Post by Bankai »

Yeah, but is this not due to weighting 'risk of having to somehow make more money in future' much more than 'risk of definitely spending 'now' extra x years (one will never get back) working to accumulate more than one needs'?

I'm not saying it's the wrong way to look at this. But, say, 2 years of work 'now' for extra cushion in order to avoid 'unlikely' possibility of having to work for 2 years at some point in future is looking at risk one-dimensionally imo.

prognastat

Post by prognastat »

Well it all comes down to the amount of risk one is comfortable with taking.