Hello - and what parts of ERE are useful for me?

Say hello!!
vuYHwNgaaW

Hello - and what parts of ERE are useful for me?

Post by vuYHwNgaaW »

Hello there.

Please excuse me if my message is offtopic for this forum — I haven't found any "meta" forums, only the ones concerned with particular topics.

I have stumbled upon ERE recently, and am interested to see what parts can I apply.

Some background:
- I work from home.
- I can vary my work load from 30 to 60 hours a week as I see fit.
- I live in a country where services are relatively cheap by EU standards (€5/h for cleaning, ironing, etc).
- My wife is a stay-at-home mum.
- I work as a contractor on long-term contracts (3-4 years). It does not take a lot of time to find another client.
- Our income is ~€160K/Y, if I chose to work 40 hours/week.
- We've got two kinds, in elementary and middle school.
- Our monthly expenses are ~€3800, including expensive private school (approx. 1/3 of all expenses). We're quite happy with this school, and wouldn't change it to homeschooling. Public (free) schools are awful.
- We have no debt.
- We live in an apartment bought for cash.

This is a state we have reached now. Due to many factors (playing "life" on a "hard" level—being born in a 3rd world country—has many disadvantages) we don't have much investments or savings (less than one yearly income), so our sole source of money is my contracting gigs, and our past income and expenses were dramatically different.

As I was reading through ERE book, I tried to evaluate every new piece of information and see how it applies to my situation. i had to drop quite a bunch of them:

- ditching the car is not an option for a country where one easily gets a sunstroke from walking (temperature outside reaches 30ºC already in April, 40º in July), biking is dangerous, taxi are relatively pricey and public transport is abysmal.