My husband is still on the treadmill

Where are you and where are you going?
Thecoalminerswife

My husband is still on the treadmill

Post by Thecoalminerswife »

Like others, I've decided to write here to make sense of why I'm coming back to this ERE site so regularly.
It was an easy conversion for me when a young friend sent me a link. I grew up in a family who practise ERE principles, although not so much of the Extreme part, My father retired at 55, my brother retired last year at 56. I recently drifted out of the workforce at 55, although intend to drift back in and out as I want to. I'm a secondary teacher and can do casual days at short notice. I have no desire to ever "own" a job again.
My husband has a hectic job in the mining industry in Australia. He earns good money. He works extraordinarily long hours. He's knackered. I play the support role - happily - I'm loving not working flat out, pottering around cooking and gardening, doing some volunteer work, enjoying exploring new hobbies, catching up on reading for pleasure, having long conversations and deep thoughts. Researching things that catch my interest. Bliss.
My real issue is that my husband seems to be working himself into the ground. The mining industry has shifted in the last couple of years and is now more demanding on workers than ever before. Having only met ten years ago, and having decided to consolidate financially in those early years of our relationship, we decided that he should do FIFO work (fly in, fly out), so we really haven't spent too much time actually living together in those ten years. Last year we relocated away from our home to a pleasant country town where he was offered a well-paid job, with the idea that he would finish his career there and retire about age 60. His adult children live in our family home on the coast and we rent a cottage in the country town.