Poleo's investment journal

Where are you and where are you going?
poleo

Poleo's investment journal

Post by poleo »

Hi everyone, it's time for me to get serious about investing.

Some stats:
28 years of age, my partner is 26.
Current occupation: aspiring farmer, while my partner works full time in the local school.
Area of the world: Northern Norway
Current goal: getting our farm project up and running, for the 2016-season, and getting informed about investing.
Long term goal: Financial independence, by means of said investments and whatever the land may yield.

I know this forum is full of sound financial advice, though I'm a novice and have no idea where to start. I know it's annoying, but if someone would take the time to recommend some beginner's reading, I'd be grateful. Pointers to good threads on this forum would be lovely too - most of the time I stumble upon one the discussions go way over my head. Just the acronyms people are using are enough to confuse my simple mind.

Anyway, what I've thought so far: I think bitcoins are cool, with all the no-central-bank and government thing going on, so I've bought an amount of them. About €1800, which amounts to about 15% of my total available capital. Where we live now, real estate prices are much more friendly than in Norwegian cities (no surprise), so I've also been looking into buying a house for renting out. This seems like a great opportunity, though I'm still not all too close to pulling the trigger. The anxiety of ownership, and size of investment both are a bit scary.

Apart from this I have an amount of money lying around in the bank doing no good. Interest rates nowadays are from what I gather, pretty much the same as keeping cash in the mattress?

I've also read, very briefly, about dividend and index fund investing, and both strategies seem sensible enough, though I don't feel like I have the necessary knowledge to make judge them.

What I want to achieve is: