themodernchap's Journal. (UK, Hard Mode, neg NW)

Where are you and where are you going?
themodernchap

themodernchap's Journal. (UK, Hard Mode, neg NW)

Post by themodernchap »

Hi folks,

First of all I'd like to express gratitude for the existance of this site, I have read in many member's journals how surprised they were to find so much in common with the other people on the site and I must say I feel the same way. I can't express how difficult it is to find people where I live who are not fully invested in the consumer cycle. I am here to learn and to share my experiences, good and bad in the hope that you will keep me honest. My girlfriend has already told me she has no interest in learning about investing etc. so this is really my only outlet for this stuff.

About Me

I am 26 later this month. I did a degree in English Literature and graduated in 2012. I was unemployed for about 8 months and then worked in a Thai restauraunt for minimum wage. I went on to qualify as a highschool teacher but there are virtually no jobs in that field in this country at the minute and to be honest I doubt I will ever teach full time again.

Starting Point
In the spirit of honesty, my current net worth is probably somewhere around £-1700. I had a hard year last year and lost a lot of my capital to bad decisions prompted by wanting to please other people, I am 100% done with that. I hope that in working on this journal I can encourage others to make some changes too, because I think I'm starting from a fairly unpromising position.
I have around £1500 saved in my local Credit Union and a further £300 saved in a self-selected ISA with Hargreaves lansdown. In this ISA I hold 2 funds but I am going to have to rebuild my portfolio from scratch.

How I Ended up Here