ClvName's Journal: Financial Independence in the Making

Where are you and where are you going?
clvrname

ClvName's Journal: Financial Independence in the Making

Post by clvrname »

Hi I'm ClvrName!
With the new year approaching its only right that I get my finances in order. With that said I'll get right into it.

Background
I'm 26 years old and I live in the Midwest. I've been working in Communications at a retail company for a little over a year making a little under $50K a year. I graduated from college in 2013 with a degree in Advertising (minors in Graphic Design and Marketing if you were curious) and approximately $35K in debt. My favorite passtimes are going out (bars particularly), new restaurants and my newest addition makeup. All which are big downfalls when it comes to reaching financial independence. I always thought I was great at managing my finances and always had a true interest for it but the more I read up on it I feel behind and not as knowledgeable as I thought I was. Background aside and on to the numbers.

Finances
Monthly Income: $2822 (might go down as I've added health insurance and a buy in to my companies vacation program or up as I'm do for a raise)
Monthly Expenses $1431
Rent: $660
Credit Card: $54
Student Loans: $172
Food: $300
Gas: $90
Cable/Internet: $105
Miscellaneous: $50
Yearly Expenses $1483
License Renewal (Feb): $100
Oil Changes (Quarterly): $115
Tires: $400
Car Insurance: $868
TOTAL (Average) MONTHLY EXPENSES:$1554

Projected Monthly Savings: $1268 or about 45% of my monthly income

Assets: $11465.81
401K A: $4937.69 (I contribute 5% of my income or $200/mo. to my 401K with a 5% company match)
401K B: $489.84
Investment Account A: $2657.61
Investment Account B: $1084.53
Bonds: $971.14
2002 Saturn: $1325

2015 Yearly Dividends: $14.52

Liabilities: $36639
Student Loan 1: $18089.56 (6.8% Interest)
Student Loan 2: $7302.16 (6.8% Interest)
Student Loan 3: $ 3261.28 (6.0% Interest)
Loan from Parents: $5275
Credit Card: $2714