Living in SF Bay Area (SJ) – how can I cut housing costs?

All the different ways of solving the shelter problem. To be static or mobile? Roots, legs, or wheels?
Beric01

Living in SF Bay Area (SJ) – how can I cut housing costs?

Post by Beric01 »

Hi ERE forums! First a little background about me: I’m a 24-year-old working professional living in the California San Francisco Bay Area (in San Jose). I discovered Mr. Money Mustache around 4 months ago, and only a little more recently found Jacob’s blog. I have bought and read the Early Retirement Extreme book, which I found to be an amazing and very applicable book.

I’ve taken a lot of these concepts to heart: I’m now carless and travel everywhere by bike, am cooking a lot more, etc. I’m trying to cut everything I can as I don’t want to work an office forever. But one area I can’t seem to reduce on is housing costs. Housing in San Jose, one of the most expensive cities in the world, is currently eating 2/3 of my monthly costs!

My current accommodations are a small 250 square foot studio apartment about 2 miles from work and the grocery store, and walking distance to the airport and mass transit. It has a tiny kitchen, and also access to a full-service community kitchen. This is costing me $1000 a month, all utilities paid, plus $50 for internet (the cheapest plan available, sadly). I have done extensive research and the only way I could beat this price by renting an apartment is if I were low-income. This is literally the best deal on apartments out there.