Resisting the Borg

Live local, get around without breaking the bank
ktn

Post by ktn »

I need help to avoid becoming one of the collective. Here's the situation:

- I am a tech/IT guy with relatively good experience and skills working for large corporations in several countries.

- my employer recently offered a nice severance package to all who were willing to leave (they wanted to reduce costs). Of course, I jumped at this opportunity to put away some for ER, knowing my best bet at saving as much as possible would be to land a new job asap.

- I now have two job offers, the more attractive of which will mean a 4-hour daily commute via public transportation (500m/1600ft walk - 20 mins in bus - 500m/1600ft walk - 45 mins in train - 2.2km/1.4mile walk). So 4 hours in public transport to accomplish 8 hours of work. :-/

- I could cut this commute by half, if I purchased a car or leased one via my new employer. Cost of doing this would be roughly €600/$830 per month (largely due to high taxation, prices & gasoline costs here). Cost of commuting via public transport would be about 1/3rd that.

- the collective (i.e. pretty much everyone around me) thinks I ought to get a car. I've managed without one for years and resent the idea of having to get one just to get to/from work.

- riding my bicycle is not an option thanks to distance and approaching winter.

- relocating somewhere close to the workplace is unfortunately not an option either.

- I consider this job a stop-gap, 6-12 month option that will keep me going while I look for a better one elsewhere in Europe.

- the job itself will look good on my resume (I am still far far away from ER.. so I still need to care how my CV will look). I believe I will enjoy and learn much from the 8 hours a day I'll spend at work. Telecommuting some days of the week is an option, but the nature of this role is such that I'd learn most by being there in person.