Frenchgirl's Journal

Where are you and where are you going?
FrenchGirl

Frenchgirl's Journal

Post by FrenchGirl »

Post #1 - Beginning of a journey

Hi everyone,
After my introduction a few weeks back I finally find the time to start my own journal.
I use a great smartphone application to track/handle my budget. It's extremely helpful to have a clear, consolidated view of all my bank accounts, my spendings, my net worth, etc.
I will make monthly updates of all of that hoping that it will help me stay on track.

Another aspect of my journal will be sharing on a monthly basis my journey to creating a better life to myself. Let me explain : It's my final month working for my company (in sales) where I have been working for almost 3 years now. As an introvert (and for many other reasons I might explain in more details later) I hated it. But the pay is good, and I do have a lot of free time (true luxury) so I was keen on being able to stick to it another few years until I'm FIRE. I really, really did my best to look at it on the bright side, being positive, and so on but I just couldn't take it.
Hence my very big and difficult decision : Leaving. It didn't seem healthly to bear with all that unhappiness and depression at age 25 (which should be a golden age of complete bliss, I imagine).

I'm taking the leap and try to live on my own terms and create my own job. One that can suit my INTP/INTJ weirdness.

So let's go for some basic info :

Female
25 yo, started working at 22 yo
Master's degree in finance (business school)
About 6k€ left in student loan (started at 27K€ in January 2012--> very satisfying!)
Yearly fixed salary : 39K€ (+some bonuses throughout the year).

Net worth : (As of end of May) : 14697.22
Debt : 6199.88 EUR (student loan)
Savings : 20897.1 EUR