Teach me how to sluggy

Where are you and where are you going?
maskedslug

Teach me how to sluggy

Post by maskedslug »

Welcome! I'm new to these parts, and want to start a journal to keep myself honest and hopefully soak up some wisdom from all of you.

Apologies if you read my intro post, some of this will be repetitive!

Current affairs
  • Late 30s, married, employed as a software engineer. Job is really hard to complain about, as far as jobs go
  • Currently WL4-ish, looking to improve my general handiness and solve more problems in-house.
  • Living in a house we bought ~1 year ago in the suburbs. This was a mistake. We do not like the suburbs, and would like to sell the house and return to the city
  • Have about $900k in assets (including the equity in the house, which is only ~$100k of that)
  • Aside from housing, we spend about ~$25k/year combined. Our mortgage payment is nearly $3,000/month. So housing absolutely dominates our spending. I'd like to bring this down significantly.
Top of mind
  • Housing We're going to look at an apartment in the city later today. The rent on this unit is 60% what our mortgage payment is, so it would be a pretty lovely change of pace. Plus the reduced maintenance, utilities, and car-dependency would be really nice. We have a close friend who lives in the same building, too, which is a big draw.

Neither my wife nor I are entirely sure what kind of housing situation we really want. Part of me hates going back to renting. But I'm feeling a little trigger shy after making such a goof with our home purchase last year.

We had our roof replaced soon after moving into our house, and decided to have a skylight removed because of condensation issues. What remains is a hole in the ceiling with a beautiful plywood view. To start getting the place ready to sell, I'll be putting my limited drywalling skills to good use this weekend, and closing that bad-boy up.