Late To Work

Live local, get around without breaking the bank
DividendGuy

Post by DividendGuy »

So...I've been doing the bike/bus thing for a couple months now and things have been generally going well. No fun biking in the rain, but I've now been there and done that. My routine is to bike to/from the bus stop which is about 2 miles from my apartment. I chain the bike there and wait for the bus. The bus ride is about 30 minutes into work (6 miles).
My problem is that twice now the bus has been pretty late. Today it was an hour late as two buses on my route broke down. My boss pulled me aside in the afternoon and had a short discussion with me where he "doesn't want to see my frugal ways get in the way of work".
My lease is up in August, and I've been thinking of moving to an apartment that is right in front of the bus stop I chain my bike to...therefore saving the bike ride. I'm starting to wonder if taking the bus at all will be a good idea. The problem is that there aren't any apartments or other good dwelling spaces near my work as it's very suburban around the location.
Maybe I need to buy a beater car or a scooter or something?
Any thoughts? I know there are quite a few public transportation users on the board.

George the original one

Post by George the original one »

A bus that takes 30 minutes to go 6 miles is only averaging 12 mph. How fast can you pedal?
Any chance of carpooling?

DividendGuy

Post by DividendGuy »

@George
Well the bus takes two pretty decent breaks at transfer stations. And it stops quite a bit for passengers getting on/off the bus.
No carpooling, I tried that.
I could pedal fast enough to probably get to work in under an hour from where I'm at, which is about 8 miles away. But, I'd show up to work sweaty and there's no showers. It wouldn't be feasible.

aquadump

Post by aquadump »