Goodbye student loans, hello future!

Where are you and where are you going?
peerifloori

Goodbye student loans, hello future!

Post by peerifloori »

Hello, here is my journal. My first goal is to pay off my student loans as quickly as possible! My second goal is maximize savings for retirement.

I'm 30. I work as a nurse. I have a pile of student loans from making poor school decisions (spent 6 years getting my first degree, then went back to school for nursing). About $68K at this point, down from $80K. In the last 2 years since entering the work force, I've also started a Roth IRA, a 403b with employer match at work, and an emergency savings fund.

My strengths: grew up frugal, enjoy spreadsheets/numbers/finances
My weaknesses: impulse shopping, husband has cc debt/no budget/no savings/no interest, would like a house/family in the future

Right now I live in Alaska - high cost of living, high cost of travel to see family, long/dark winters. We're hoping to move down to the Pacific Northwest - cheaper, closer to family, closer to the ocean. We live in essentially an unplanned tiny house, aka "the box". We've managed to live in 210 square feet for 2 years. We're paying off the land we live on, and very much hoping someone will buy the property soon so we can get the heck out of dodge.

Here's what the finances look like:

Savings: ~10K
403b: ~9K vested (unlikely I'll stay in this job long enough to get more than 25% vested in the additional 6K, I don't bother counting it)
Roth IRA: ~5K

Right now I put ~500 pre-tax into the 403b and ~240 into the IRA monthly. My goal is to increase the IRA contribution to the max, $458/mo. I'm debating using my emergency savings to fill out my max contribution for 2015. I have a few more months to decide.

I have both retirement accounts with a mix of index funds, passive investing strategy. I'm interested to read about some of the other investing strategies people use around here!

Loans: