My Journal (purplepatch's FI journal)

Where are you and where are you going?
purplepatch

My Journal (purplepatch's FI journal)

Post by purplepatch »

Reason for journal:
I read a few other journals, and I think it's cool that other people can also read and give suggestions, support, and new ideas.

A little context:
I am a 24 year old living in the greater Los Angeles area. I finally found a full time, long-term (hopefully) job as a tax accountant at a small firm, which I will be starting in the next few weeks. For the past year, after I graduated with a BS in business, I held a couple of temporary full time positions as a bookkeeper/ general admin staff.

I've been reading this website, the ERE book, and a couple other forums for a month or two. I only started thinking about retirement seriously the past couple months; before that, I knew I would start saving once I began working, but I had no insight or any particular plan. Actually, my plan was 'save as much as I can'. I discovered early retirement on a blog --I don't remember which. It had the usual savings rate vs time until financial independence graph. That was the small 'aha' moment for me. It was so simple, and I felt like I could do it too, and from then on I started playing with the idea of FI and ERE.

Having said that, I still do not have concrete goals, such as FI in xx years. I'm still holding onto the 'save as much as you can' plan and will see where it takes me. I have been logging all my finances in Quickbooks for the past year so I have a pretty good idea of my spending, but it's a little hard for me to project income (bonus, raises), until I work for a little bit. At the end of this year I think I will have at least a range for when I can become FI.

My short term goals:
-keep expenses under control
-learn more about investing (right now I'm only doing index funds) and a managed portfolio at a brokerage branch of one of the banks I use.