bottlerocks ERE Exploration

Where are you and where are you going?
bottlerocks

bottlerocks ERE Exploration

Post by bottlerocks »

Hi all! I'm a 26 year old ISTP STEM degree holder living in redacted. I recently finished Jacob's book and it has given me a little more motivation a lot more perspective on the topic of financial independence. It's really nice knowing there are articulate and thoughtful people out there who have similar views as me regarding the "system" I find myself part of and ready to rid myself of.

I wanted to start a journal simply because I'm the type of person who is motivated by accountability (even if it's all perceived :lol:). By having ideas, goals, and spending written out for other people to see I'm hoping I will better retain focus which is something I've always struggled with.

A Little Bit of Background
redacted I wasn't raised to be frugal but always leaned towards that sort of lifestyle until I graduated college. I've held a job without a large gap in employment since I was 15 years old and really valued independence with my money and especially time. Scholarships covered most of my undergraduate education and my parents helped with books and a few summer courses (which I'm very thankful for). I ended up coming out of school with student loan debt of about $5000 and only about $2000 to my name due to a mass internship layoff during my senior year. Local industries went through a period of layoffs and hiring freezes during 2010-2011 (I graduated in Dec. 2010) so I struggled to find employment for a few months. I also applied to a dozen or so Math graduate programs and only got accepted in to backups in cold places (not my cup of tea). Finally, in March 2011 I took the first concrete job offer than came through the door for a redacted. I've stayed in the industry but hopped jobs a few times which brings me to where I am now. Frugality went out the window quite a bit but I've made some fortunate asset acquisitions and maintained a 40-