Frihet / Freedom - Journal

Where are you and where are you going?
frihet

Frihet / Freedom - Journal

Post by frihet »

So this is my road to frihet/freedom journal. Been thinking of starting it for half a year. Not a quick guy.

But now finally there is one very positive thing to report that will really make me partly retired in 6 months already. I’ve got a job as field engineer, fancy mechanic ☺ on the North Sea. Just started my trainee period. This will also make the bank statements more fun to look at. Feels wrong to report nothing but draw-downs on this forum.

I have been a student now for 1,5 year and before that I spent 1,5 year travelling. Been working a bit for the past two years but not nearly enough to cover my expenses.

So who am I? An early 30s swede living in Norway for the past 2 years. I have a deep interest in freedom, personal/economical/spiritual and am a very independent person. Somewhat of a loner or at least when my socializing energy get spent at work. Another reason I know the way you work in the oil fields is better for me. Defined lines between work time and free time. I will be on call every other month and free the next. On call means that I will be waiting at home for them to call me, which means free time in my working months as well. Supposedly it’s about 100-130 workdays a year.

Here is a review of my starting salary, savings, debt, and some expenses. A bit shamed to admit that I don’t have 100% control. Still have a beautiful excel chart I got from Rube on this forum, thank you. Can’t gather the energy right now to learn excel however. This has actually held me back from starting the journal. Thought I might as well start it anyway even if it won’t be as detailed. When every other month is free after new years I’m sure the energy will come.

Basic salary: 395000nok/$64000 yearly