Lydz's journal

Where are you and where are you going?
Lydz

Lydz's journal

Post by Lydz »

Hello all :)

As many people do, I've been lurking on this forum for a couple of years now but I feel I needed to have some feedback on how I was doing towards FI. So I'm a female in my late-20s. I work full-time in a hospital with an annual gross income of 48K (net income would be about 33K). I was recently checking up on how much passive income my savings were generating and was very satisfied considering my situation right now so here's my story.

I tried budgetting before and that was not something I liked to do (And respect) notably because I would set my budget way too tight and felt really cheap at times when I actually didn't have to worry that much fiancially speaking. I knew that I was not the kind of person who would buy useless things. So therefore I followed my expenses for a certain time and made an average of the months where I had spent the most and figured out what would be the maximum I would need to spend in a month. As for the rest, I set up an automatic transfer to a saving account so that all I had left in my checking account was the amount necessary for my monthly expenses. Considering that time to time I would get a higher pay because of the overtime that I had to do at work, that system worked fine for me up until now. That way I could allowed myself some extra spending at times when I felt I needed a few things that weren't accounted for.

So here's some numbers:

800$ is how much I allowed myself to spend per month (most of the time I spend more like 600-700$)

800$ covers:
Rent: 250-270$ which includes all the amenities, toilet paper, dishwashing soap etc (I live with 5 roommates)
Transport: Close to 0$ (I bike or walk everywhere and I live close to everything including workplace).