mxlr650's marathon journal

Where are you and where are you going?
mxlr650

Post by mxlr650 »

Hi All,
My goal is to save 150K USD by 4th of July 2015 and retire; I am planning to use this journal as a way to track/share my progress with this forum, and discuss/learn.
Background:
I have been reading this forum for 2.5+ years, and got ERE book when it first came out. I am already FI: I am debt-free, own a fully paid-off small condo and have a reasonably well stocked retirement/non-retirement portfolio.
I am in my early 40s, married, no kids, and am a desk slave at a tech company in silicon valley. I was a programmer long time ago and since the dot-com bust I have moved on to greener (some say darker) pastures. And no, I did not strike rich in silicon valley which is kinda sad since it is kinda cool to to fit into the perception of silicon valley success even though others secretly resent your luck. While I really like what I do at work, my interest in holding onto a job has been slowly waning over years. I used to love new technology concepts and that interest is waning over years as well. I do not resent my life at all, although looking upwards is always been a typical human trait.
My wife and I see eye-to-eye on all major issues and I am eternally grateful for that, and it has been the primary reason for our FI. While I was careless in my early 20s, we are reasonably frugal and have been fortunate to have good health so far. Over the years I have read most well known and interesting retirement books and ERE being my last book on retirement. Since my college days, I always wanted to retire at age 40 and while it has slid by few years however we are almost there!
Our plan is to use 150K as a 4 year travel fund and we have not yet chalked out the details of our mode of transportation, what we would like to in those years etc.