the animal's journal

Where are you and where are you going?
theanimal

Post by theanimal »

Hello to all!
I recently finished reading both YMOYL and ERE within the past week. Before that I knew that I did not want to do the '9-5 till 65' and through this I found a logical way out!

A little bit about myself:

I am a 20 yr old from the Chicago area. I am a sophomore at Miami University and am planning to graduate next year with a degree in finance. Even though I'll be graduating a year early I will still be leaving with about $40k in student loan debt. My overall goal after that is to pay off those loans within 2 years and retire hopefully 5-7 years after I graduate. My motivation over this is to actually LIVE a life instead of working everyday to accumulate money and waste it on material objects. I want to be free.
I believe that my spending habits are pretty good for where I'm at right now but they can certainly get better. I don't spend much as I don't enjoy going into town to pay money to go in a bar and stand around with people I don't even know. Currently, major weakness is books...once I get into a subject, I buy a good amount of books (definitely will have to improve on that).
And finally, these past two weeks I have watched my food spending and have actually improved it dramatically. Sidenote: I have been a vegan for about 3 months now and cook all my own meals. I tried to limit my spending on grocieries before I knew about YMOYL or ERE before but now I spend even less because I buy produce that is in season!

I think that's enough for now...look forward to conversing with all of you.
Jack
P.S. already started creating a "bucket list" of things I want to do once I retire..haha I guess you could say I'm pretty excited.

jacob
Site Admin
Location: USA, Zone 5b, Koppen Dfa, Elev. 620ft, Walkscore 77

Post by jacob »