Personal quality and satisfaction of life compared to "best in class"-countries

Simple living, extreme early retirement, becoming and being wealthy, wisdom, praxis, personal growth,...
wolf

Personal quality and satisfaction of life compared to "best in class"-countries

Post by wolf »

I am studying many indeces about quality and satisfaction of life, e.g.:
- Quality of life in EU
- OECD BetterLife
- Happy Planet Index
- Numbeo.com Quality of Life
- Social Progress Index
- World Happiness Report

Many times Nordic countries from Europe are on the top and are "best in class", as well as Australia, New Zealand, Swiss.

Are you also interested in such indeces, studies, papers?
Do measure your own satisfaction with life?
Do you compare yourself with such "best in class"-countries?
Do you evaluate and investigate such information when making decisions in life?

RealPerson

Re: Personal quality and satisfaction of life compared to "best in class"-countries

Post by RealPerson »

I honestly don't pay any attention to these "happiness" competitions. They seem to all focus on something that isn't my focus. For example, I don't speak any of the nordic languages, so that is a big minus. I hate cold weather and overcast skies. That probably also rules out Scandinavia. Therefore, the top of the list is out. I really enjoyed New Zealand, but it is a looong way from my family. Big minus. Plus, the cost of living is high. People and nature are great in New Zealand, but it doesn't match the negatives.