Small celebrations

Simple living, extreme early retirement, becoming and being wealthy, wisdom, praxis, personal growth,...
FBeyer

Small celebrations

Post by FBeyer »

Some de-stressing hacks revolve around small celebrations during the day. The idea is that you not only relieve stress, but you also foster a need to be even more productive, because you are rewarding yourself for it.

I've come to realize that throughout most of my life I've been way too mf'n busy getting shit done and not focused enough on celebrating the little victories.

I 'sold' most of my vacations while I worked as a carpenter and got all sorts of great power tools in return because I wanted to build stuff, not lounge about.
I never really celebrated my birthdays (in fact I don't know immediately how old I am. I have to calculate it when people ask me and it's been like this since I was... 15 maybe(*) ).
I hardly celebrated becoming cand.scient after way too many teeth-gnashing years at university.

I've always been too focused on the horizon to lean back and enjoy my progress here and now and this has most likely eroded my ability to appreciate the fruits of my own labour.
I rarely celebrate things I accomplish because it seems too natural to me. It feels weird to get all wound up about some piece of software that suddenly works after I've been slaving away at if for months; I've been working for months, of COURSE it works now! :roll:
It feels like celebrating that I woke up again this morning, a natural thing that doesn't necessarily warrant a celebration, but I have now come to realize that one should really pat oneself on the back from time to time. No one else is going to do it for you and if you benefit from it, there is no reason not to.

So, I'm looking for small things to reward oneself with during the workdays/weekdays to help nurture a sense of self-appreciation.
So far the list of things I've come up with are:

- Write my SO a little love letter