Question on pricing a used car with low miles

Move along, nothing to see here!
JuliusFC

Question on pricing a used car with low miles

Post by JuliusFC »

I want to sell my 2007 Jetta and it only has 15,000 miles. I have no idea how to factor that into the price. The car is old and a stick shift but the mileage is so abnormally low. Or maybe I'm delusional and the low mileage isn't as valuable as I think on a nine year old standard car. FWIW it's also in excellent condition and looks brand new. The calculators I've looked at suggest about a 2K premium for the mileage which seems reasonable to me but I have no one knowledgeable about this kind of stuff to run it by. Opinions are much appreciated.

OTCW

Re: Question on pricing a used car with low miles

Post by OTCW »

You could take it to carmax to see their offer, then price it a couple grand more than that for your own private sale.

SavingWithBabies

Post by SavingWithBabies »

OTCW wrote:You could take it to carmax to see their offer, then price it a couple grand more than that for your own private sale.
I second this. Unfortunately, I think you'll find the low miles aren't worth much, if any, premium. I would be happy to be wrong.

On rereading, if it is in that good a shape, one place where you might see a premium is from enthusiasts. So go post your car forsale over at the VWVortex forum. There are two places to put it: the forum for your particular model and the regional thread (which is useful as you'll alert local enthusiasts). They will pay a little more and/or appreciate the shape it is in.

JuliusFC

Post by JuliusFC »

No carmax where I live but I'm sure there's something similar. I'll look into that and the VWVortex forum. Thank you!

tommytebco

Post by tommytebco »

It's very hard to get a premium price for a prime condition "anything". MSN autos has one estimating tool that allows for mileage and condition. And IIRC it runs toards the high end of prices.