How to get into the IT/ Cyber Security Industry and what certifications I need

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
TheRedHare

How to get into the IT/ Cyber Security Industry and what certifications I need

Post by TheRedHare »

Hi,

I'm a young, recent college grad and have manged to pick up a small IT job at my college. Because it's a state school, they need to abide by the state's new information security polices, and so they have hired a few new people in order to bolster their labor force in order to meet all the regulations needed. That being said, I'm trying to find a way that will enable me to become a bigger asset to the school so that I can secure my position, and so that I can start gaining more experience in cyber security/IT.

Unfortunately, I graduated with a stupid BS in Business degree which is totally useless. At this point I'm trying to sell myself as a guy who is good with computers and good at managing people :roll: Anyway, aside from not have a CS degree, which I wish I had, I need to figure a way to better market myself and gain the skills needed for the cyber industry. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what certs would be desirable? Thanks!

davebobk47

Re: How to get into the IT/ Cyber Security Industry and what certifications I need

Post by davebobk47 »

I certainly would not consider a business degree worthless. A lot of government cyber security work involves mountains of paperwork to go with some of the more interesting stuff. When I was in this world there was a certificate for a "certified ethical hacker". I would start there and see if you could pick up a few other basic security certificates. Most can be done via self study at home then take the test. With those certs and a business degree you could possibly get picked up by a government contractor however they typically look for someone with a current clearance.

Scott 2