Burning Out Studying CS

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
slowtraveler

Burning Out Studying CS

Post by slowtraveler »

Hello,

I'm studying CS in SV and am feeling burnt out on it. I've switched majors multiple times and feel some challenges staying focused on a major for a long-time. Maybe I'm burnt out on school?

I'm an INTP/ENFP depending on when in my life I've taken the test, N and P are consistent, the I vs E and T vs F are barely over the halfway point each time I take the test. I'm very much an "Ooh, shiny" type, fascinated by fields from gardening to astronomy to meditation. I love learning a little about many things, not going too deep into more than a few fields.

I've got an Associate's in Bio, I could get an Associate's in CS with 2 more classes once this quarter ends. a Bachelor's in CS or a Bachelor's in Econ/Biz in bout 2-3yrs.

I know CS has the most jobs but I feel I'd be miserable there. I love learning more about how computers work as I see them as a huge trend in my life. Though I also dread every single class and feel more anxiety, agitation, stress just thinking about programming sometimes. With Econ, I at least enjoy learning about finance and feel it's much easier so I don't have to stress so much to do the assignments. My brain doesn't feel overwhelmed on where to even start or what I'm doing like it now does with CS.

I know this choice is purely my own and I also know many of you are way further down this path than I. Should I push through the CS or should I focus my energy somewhere with less of an uphill battle (Econ/Biz)?

ether

Re: Burning Out Studying CS

Post by ether »

Why not just get an IT job?
No programming needed and you got enough skills to get a basic job!

slowtraveler

Post by slowtraveler »

I hadn't thought of that. The main IT jobs I think of are software developer or entrepreneur.

What IT jobs would you recommend looking into?

Scott 2